Home sport Outstanding student athletes celebrated at the Algoma U Athletics Banquet

Outstanding student athletes celebrated at the Algoma U Athletics Banquet

by admin

Thunderbirds varsity athletes have been recognized for their dedication, skill, and academic achievement

Algoma University and the Algoma University Thunderbird Athletics Department recognized the hard work, dedication, skill and academic achievement of their student-athletes at the 2022-2023 Athletics Banquet recently held at Grand Gardens.

This year, the university honored two outstanding Thunderbirds with two Athlete of the Year awards, the university said in a press release.

The first female athlete of the year was Faith Holmes of the women’s soccer program.

The first female soccer player to receive the award, she scored 1,170 minutes of play.

Holmes’ coaches said she “makes numerous tackles per game, denying opponents clear goal-scoring opportunities”.

As a leader, she helped change the nature of the program itself, portraying what it means to be a top athlete — working overtime, maintaining academic integrity and serving as a role model for new players on the team.

Holmes is also a dual athlete, also competing in cross country this season.

The next athlete to receive the Athlete of the Year award was Kyle Price from the men’s wrestling team.

Starting in January, Price went 3-0 to win the 100kg Brook Open gold, as well as the Western Open gold.

Price’s undefeated season helped him perform well at the OUA Championships in McMaster as he finally finished the competition by winning the gold medal.

Then he finished his season with a bronze medal at the American Athletic Championships.

Algoma University Students Union (AUSU) has introduced a new award to honor the student-athlete who shows leadership in their sport, but also shining example of character and leadership in their daily lives.

The “AUSU Exemplary Student-Athlete Award, Celebrating the Example of Timotheus van Weerden” will now be presented annually in honor of Tim van Weerden, who this year was captain of men’s soccer and president of the university.

The University of Algoma has recognized its 2007/2008 men’s basketball team as Thunderbird Wall of Fame Volunteers of the Year.

The team finished fourth in the OCAA West Region with an 11-7 record, making them the first team to qualify for the OCAA Men’s Basketball Playoffs.

The team’s playoffs included: losing to the Loyalist College Lancers in the qualifying playoff game, the Centennial College Colts in the Quarterfinals, and the St. Louis Cardinals. Louis Cardinals. Lawrence Vikings in the semi-finals.

In the OCAA Men’s Basketball Finals, the team lost to top seed Sheridan and won the silver medal, Algoma Yu’s first.

Veron Phillips was a 1st team Western Region All-Star and Robbie Green was a 2nd team Western Region All-Star. The team consisted of the following players and coaches: Peter Chapman, Robbie Green, Andy Haider, Patrick Murray, Andrew Turgeon, Ryan Vetry, Igor Vukovic, Zach Wright, James Zingwire, Veron Phillips, Garnett Currie (coach), and Winston Ivey (assistant). ). Coach) and Thomas Currie (Technical Director).

“Tonight was an amazing night as we were able to celebrate the many accomplishments of our student-athletes, coaches, and support staff,” said Dave Trudell, Director of Student Life and Ancillary Services.

“We congratulate all of the winners and thank everyone who participated or supported the Thunderbird Varsity athletics program this year. We can’t wait to see what the Thunderbirds do next year.”

The following awards were also distributed:

2021-22 U SPORTS All Canadian Academic Awards
Alison Reed – WBB
Bethany Palactis – WBB
Devin Miron – MBB
Mercedes Mazzuca – WBB
Peter De La Paz – MBB
Qeila Mbonihankuye – WBB
Roman Nero – MBB
Amber Dunbar – WSOCC
Eloise Mark Wallace – WSOCC
Ethan Mendez de Franca – MSOCC
Faith Holmes – WSOCC
Gina Crombie – WSOCC
Katie Nippard – WSOCC
Knippard League – WSOCC
Maria Dimelo – WSOCC
Megan Chandler – WSOCC
Taylor Parker – MSOCC
Tim van Weerden – MSOCC
Karina Cognini – XC
Emilie Duchesne – WWRES
Brenna Hamilton – WCURL
Hunter Schumacher – MCURL

OAU Global Academic Award 2021/2022
Roman Nero: Men’s Basketball
Rhea Donnelly: Women’s basketball
Tim van Weerden: Men’s soccer
Knippard League: Women’s Soccer
Gabriel Martinok: Men’s Wrestling
Mel Morrish: Female wrestler
Jordan Bryant: Men’s Nordic Skiing
Brianna Marshall: Women’s Nordic Skiing
Jordan Bryant: Men’s distance runner
Faith Holmes: Women’s distance runner
Hunter Schumacher: Men’s Curling
Brianna Hamilton: Women’s curling

Dr. Lukenda Thunderbird Service Award
Mponyhankoy mycelium

AUSU Exemplary Student-Athlete Award, celebrating the example of Timothy van Weerden
Tim Van Weerden

Women’s basketball
Coach Award – Kyla Fung
The most sophisticated – Mercedes Mazuka
Defensive Player of the Year – Kyla Fong
Rookie of the Year – Brock Grohn
Best player – Bethany Pelactzis

Men’s basketball
Coach Award – Stephen Kabongo
Most Improved – Babies Sean Cher
Defensive Player of the Year – Devin Miron
Rookie of the Year – Johann Germain
Best player – Devin Miron

cross running
Coaches Award – Faith Holmes and Jordan Bryant
Rookie of the Year Award – Avery Cooper and Mark Jobs
Most improved – Bilal Khoja
Best player – Avery Cooper

net for women
Coach Award – Nicole Costello
Rookie of the Year – Abby Engel
MVP – Brianna Hamilton

net for men
Rookie of the Year – Josh Bondoc
Best player – Hunter Schumacher

nordic ski
Coach Award – Nick Krsunski
Rookie of the Year – Jordan Bryant and Brianna Marshall
MVP – Mark Jobs

Women’s football
Coach Award – Eloise Mark Wallace
Captain Award – Megan Chandler
Defensive Player of the Year – Faith Holmes
Rookie of the Year – Makayla Townes
MVP – Faith Holmes

men’s soccer
Coach Award – Tim van Weerden
Captain’s Award – Thierry Njega
Defensive Player of the Year – Ethan Mendes of Franca
Rookie of the Year – Josh Bondoc
Best Player Award – Hiroki Wada

Women’s wrestling
Coach Award – Emilie Duchesne
Most Improved – Mel Morrish
Rookie of the Year – Kira Bak
Mow – Lily Fraser

Male wrestling
Coach Award – Harish Qasi
Rookie of the Year – Gabe Martinok
Clippers – Kyle Price

Thunderbird Award (for graduating student-athletes)
Faith Holmes – Women’s Soccer and Cross Country
Gina Crombie – women’s soccer
Megan Chandler – women’s soccer
Katie Nippard – women’s soccer
Knippard League – Women’s Soccer
Maria Demelo – women’s football
Sabrina Adi – women’s soccer
Samuel Akingbehin – men’s football
Lofu Jun Ketoko – Men’s Football
Brigadier Amir Khan – Men’s Football
Harish Kasi – Men’s Wrestling
Émilie Duchesne – Women’s wrestling
Peter de la Paz – men’s basketball
Olajuwon Oyegoke – Men’s Basketball
Devin Miron – men’s basketball
Carly Fracalanza – women’s basketball
Hunter Schumacher – Men’s Curling
Brianna Hamilton – Women’s Curling
Taylor Elliott – Women’s Curling
Nicole Costello – women’s curling
Nicolas Korsunski – Nordic Skiing
Carina Cognigni – Snowboarding and cross-country running

Related News

Leave a Comment